Overview City Council

The city council is the elected body of the city of Jena.

It determines the principles for the administration of the city and decides on all matters of the city, unless these are transferred to the deciding committees, the Lord Mayor is responsible by law or the City Council transfers certain matters to him.

The tasks, composition and rights of the City Council result from the provisions of § 22 of the Thuringian Municipal Code (ThürKO).

The city council is to be provided with the necessary aids and facilities for the fulfilment of its tasks, in particular an office is at its disposal. In its factual work it is directly subordinate to the city council. (Main statute of the city of Jena, § 4)

Factions at a glance

Faction / Office Contact person(s)

DIE LINKE. (9 seats)
Dornburger Street 56
07743 Jena

Katja Schröder (parliamentary party worker)
phone: 0049 3641 443383
fax: 0049 3641 356330

Bündnis 90 / Die Grünen (9 seats)
Schillergäßchen 5
07745 Jena

Katrin Hildebrand (parliamentary party worker)
phone: 0049 3641 449303
fax: 0049 3641 420270

FDP(6 seats)
c/o Stefan Beyer
Lutherstr. 20
07730 Jena

Stefan Beyer (parliamentary group staff)
Tel.: 0049 3641 2950597

SPD (6 seats)
Pond ditch 4
07743 Jena

Matthias Grehl (Parliamentary Group Staff)
phone: 0049 3641 420480
fax: 0049 3641 420482

CDU (6 seats)
Saalbahnhofstraße 10
07743 Jena

Dr. Johannes Viehrig (Member of the parliamentary group)
Phone: 0049 3641 449706
fax: 0049 3641 440777

AfD (5 seats)
PO Box 67
07724 Jena

Volker Wagenhaus (parliamentary group staff)

Citizens for Jena (3 seats)
Jenergasse 13
07743 Jena

Grit Häkanson-Hall (parliamentary party worker)
Phone: 0049 3641 820932
fax: 0049 3641 357970

Non-attached Member(Die Guten Party)

Anne Neumann
Non-attached Member(FREIE WÄHLER JENA) Prof. Dr. Ulrich S. Schubert